smARTies BookArt program

Primary tabs

Sign Up for one or all of the smARTies! Book Arts programs. Each 4-week session will have a different focus, facilitated by Debra Fink Bachelder - gerontologist and Master Instructional Artist.

Program DATES:
November 3, 10, December 1, 8 (2017)
They're Books! They're Gifts! They're Ornaments!
​Star, tassel, and brad book structures can serve all three purposes.  Depending on the papers you choose, they're great for any occasion or season. Copies of vintage images will be available for participants to use in the making of their books.

January 19, 26, February 2, 9 (2018)
Book Arts
​Come and explore unusual paper structures to house your words and images.  The goal of this session is to create a new playful "book" each week.

March 2, 9, 16, 23 (2018)
Collage Books Using Your Own Photos!
​Using your favorite landscape or still life shots, we will start each week with a different idea for a collage or layout and then use copies to make a variety of books including a simple sewn section/self mailer; meander style books; and concertina with wrap. Your original and unique collages may be good enough to be framed!

​This program made possible through a generous grant from:

Date: 
Repeats every week every Friday until Fri Mar 23 2018 except Fri Nov 17 2017, Fri Nov 24 2017, Fri Dec 15 2017, Fri Dec 22 2017, Fri Dec 29 2017, Fri Jan 05 2018, Fri Jan 12 2018.
Friday, December 1, 2017 - 9:30am
Friday, December 8, 2017 - 9:30am
Friday, January 19, 2018 - 9:30am
Age: